United Arab Emirates


Arabic (English is widely spoken)

Emirati Dirhams

Generally hot & sunny

GMT +4



The United Arab Emirates consists of seven Emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ummal - Qaiwain, Fujairah, Ajman and Ras Al Khaimah. Four - fifths of the UAE is desert but has contrasting landscapes—from the towering red dunes of the Liwa to the rich palm - filled Oasis of Al Ain, from the precipitous Hajar Mountains to the more fertile stretches of its coastal plains. The country has a rich heritage that encompasses architecture, sports, occupations, traditions, arts, crafts, food, places of historic and archaeological importance, lifestyle and values imbibed in Islam.

One of the main focuses of tourist life (other than shopping) is the beach. The waters of the UAE are remarkably warm, clean, and beautiful. There are long stretches of white - sand beaches, ranging from completely undeveloped to highly touristic (even in cities like Dubai). The snorkeling and diving can be magnifi cent, especially along the eastern (Indian Ocean) coast. Vast swaths of desert stretch to the south of the major urban areas, offering dramatic views and terrifying rides in fast - driven safaris. The mountains are dramatic, steep rocky crags, and a visit to them (for example, the town of Hatta) is well rewarded with amazing views.